11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2018 2:37 PM by Sam su

Tableau - SharePoint Integration

Purnima Rai

Hello Experts,

Happy New Year!!

I am new to Tableau community and currently creating dashboards based on excel sheets which I have hosted on a Share-Point site. We are uploading this dashboard on the Tableau Server and we want the server to connect with the SharePoint site and refresh the data from excel as per the refresh schedule or on-demand basis.

I wanted to understand if it's possible to connect Tableau Server with a Share Point site or shared directory where we keep the excel file and if it is possible to refresh the dashboard on-demand or as per a schedule.

Please help and guide.

Thanks,

Purnima

• 1. Re: Tableau - SharePoint Integration
          Matthias Goossens

Hey Purnima,

Have you tried reading this community post: Connect to SharePoint Lists with OData ?

A lot of people here in the community have tried connecting to Sharepoint before, the comment also contains valueable info.

Cheers,

Matthias

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Tableau - SharePoint Integration
            Purnima Rai

Thank You Matthias for the reply.

I had actually gone through the post in past and had noticed that Tableau does not support OData to connect with Share-Point list. So we tried uploading the excel file on Share-Point site and then tried connecting to this site from Tableau Desktop.

We are able to connect to this file on Share-Point using UNC path from Tableau Desktop (Connection type is Excel Extract). But when we publish the dashboard to the Tableau Server and schedule the extract, we get an error message saying

status code = 1000, Unable to connect to the file. Check that the file exists and that you have sufficient access privileges for it.