7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2017 4:04 AM by balaji.kolluru

Number of records

balaji.kolluru

Hi All,

Greetings!!

We want to pull the number of records in each dashboard. I had explored the internal Tableau Postgres but couldn't get the required info. All I see is the 'size' field under hist_workbooks table which I'm not sure of it. Can anyone please suggest on how to  proceed with the requirement.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Number of records
          Toby Erkson

Is this what you're looking for in Tableau Desktop?

What question are you trying to answer with this data?

• 2. Re: Number of records
            balaji.kolluru

Hi Toby,

No. I was not looking for that. I'm a server admin and we need some info regarding dashboards in dev and prod environments. We require the dashboard details like how many records each dashboard holding. I tried to pull the info from Tableau repository but I'm not finding the dashboard records details. Hope you understood my requirement now.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks

• 3. Re: Number of records
              Russell Christopher

Hi Balaji -

Tableau dashboards don't store records. Instead, they display aggregated results to questions posed against a data store like SQL Server, Oracle, or our own Tableau Data Extracts. Typically, a dashboard includes multiple visualizations EACH displaying aggregated results...so your question doesn't really seem to apply. Perhaps you're interested in the size of extracts stored by Tableau? It's hard to understand from your question.

Could you explain a little bit more about what you're trying to do? You've asked for a specific piece of information, but not why you want it, and how you'd use it. Understanding your overall goal will help the community guide you correctly.

• 4. Re: Number of records
                balaji.kolluru

Hi Russell,