6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 28, 2016 11:18 AM by Amy Lambert

Grand Totals for Calculated Measures?

Amy Lambert

Hello - I am so new to Tableau as well as this Forum, so please be patient with me as I gather my bearings.

I've created a table with some data, and I can't seem to figure out how to get Grand Totals, despite scouring the web and forums for answers (again, I'm very new to the data/analytics world).

For HIPAA purposes, I cannot share a packaged workbook, but I will share a screenshot along with the best explaination I can...

To the left are my Medical Group names (Dimension) and the columns of data are what I am trying to total. My data are calculated Measures. Each row represents data for a different medical group. I am just needing to display the total for all medical groups for each column of data. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Grand Totals for Calculated Measures?
          Norbert Maijoor

Hi Amy,

Welcome to this forum:).

Bring your measures in by "Double-Clicking" the applicable measures or drop them on the canvas. Make sure "Measure Names" becomes available on the Column shelf

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Grand Totals for Calculated Measures?
            Sagar Sanjay Joshi

Hi Amy,

The Calculated Measures are being used as Discrete measure, hence it can't do any totals. Hence you need to use them as Continuous Measures. You can do so by using the Measure Names and Measure Values fields as shown below.

--Joshi

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Grand Totals for Calculated Measures?
              Bobby Souza

Hi Amy,

Just to add to Norbert, it seems the pills you brought in are discrete - currently, Tableau is treating these pills like a Dimension (like "text") which is why the grand total isn't showing a total aggregate. What you want to do is convert each of your measures "2016 Adjusted", "Decreased Count", etc. to continuous (images below).