2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2017 6:59 AM by heather.vogt

Most valuable advanced visualizations

heather.vogt

Hello! I know, I know; you're probably getting inundated with "Best of..." lists this time of year, but I have a question for the Community: Which of the following advanced visualizations are used the most in data analytics--Histogram, Control Chart, Market Basket Analysis: Co-Occurrence, Pareto Chart, and KPI Chart? I'm looking for the top three.

And by "most" I mean which of the advanced visualizations above get the most use in the data analytics world? Would someone get more use knowing how to make a pareto chart rather than a control chart? Is a histogram the king (or queen) of visualizations?

I'm an instructional designer and need to pare down a section on Advanced Visualizations from a course I just wrote. Those listed above are what's currently included, and I need to cut the section to three. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Happy New Year!

• 1. Re: Most valuable advanced visualizations
          Jonathan Drummey

Hi Heather,

I also do instructional design so this is a topic I've thought about...I don't feel like I have a good sense about "used most" across the entirety of data visualization creators, I can speak to what I find most useful from the list you posted:

- histogram. This is incredibly useful for validating data before we ever get to what we typically think of of "analysis" and "visualization", they are a go-to chart type for me.

- Pareto charts. Whether we're trying to identify most profitable products, highest volume customers, or the largest sources of defects these are really useful charts.