6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2016 3:24 PM by Jonathan Drummey

Using subtotals and totals as measures?

Alexis Sannoh

Hi all,

I am not quite sure that this question has been answered or not. I have read through the different forums relevant to this post but I am still quite confused. I am new to tableau and I have two local agencies that I am working with that have clinic level data as a subcategory, broken down by months. I want to be able to replicate the subtotals and both the row/column grand totals embedded in tableau and use them as measures to visualize the data in different ways. Is this possible? If so, how can I go about it? Is it best to use calculated field formulas? OR would be easier to just send the data back to excel and compute the sub/grand totals from there?

Any guidance you all have would be greatly appreciated.

I have attached the workbook example I created of what I would like to replicate.

Jonathan Drummey I have read a lot of discussions on this topic and you were in most of them, would you mind taking a look at this for me as well, please?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Using subtotals and totals as measures?
          Maciek La

Hi Alexis,

it would be great if you could provide at least mockup of the dashboard you are trying to produce.

You can create calculated field which will calculate total on different levels using LOD expression. Those can be later used as filters / sorters.

• 2. Re: Using subtotals and totals as measures?
            Matthew Risley

as Maciek La stated, you can certainly use calculated fields to get your answer! This is probably the most healthy way as you can keep the data Tableau-friendly and in one place.

We will certainly help you if you are struggling with the calculations!