3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2016 1:03 PM by Jessica Laskowski

New User - Filtering Problems

Jessica Laskowski

Hi,

I'm new to Tableau. I've created a graph with two keys that users can click on to filter data in the graph.

One filters by type of animal (taxonomic order) and order is represented by data point color.

One filters by categories of age a first reproduction and is represented by data point size.

I'm having two main problems:

(1) When filtering by age at first reproduction in the published product, I lose other options in that same key. For example, when I click on the largest point size (oldest age group), to only see those in the graph, I lose the ability to then click on the smallest (youngest age group).

(2) When I only filter by age at first reproduction all data points change to the smallest size. I'd like for example, when I click on the oldest age group (the largest points), for them to stay large. It's disorienting when the graph recalibrates point size with each new filter action.

I've attached my packaged workbook and below is the link where the graph is published.

https://public.tableau.com/profile/publish/2BodySizeMaxLongevitySexualMaturityAge/Dashboard1#!/publish-confirm

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jessica

• 1. Re: New User - Filtering Problems
          Cheryl Grinds

Hi Jessica,

In regards to selecting multiple filter values, you have two options:

1. You can use hold down the 'control' key to select multiple values, this will allow you to pick multiple SMA Ratings to filter on (so oldest + youngest would work).

or

2. Instead of using a dashboard action to filter on the SMA Rating size chart, you could instead build a filter on the worksheet and use that for filtering. I've attached a copy of the workbook showing what I did to achieve that.