3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 28, 2016 6:01 AM by Jeffrey Kritzman

Color changing progress bar by counting values

torsten.rieckmann

Hey everybody,

I am new with Tableau and trying to create some worksheets I just created in Excel. Actually, I guess this is a typical kind of analysis with Tableau but unfortunately I can not get it done by myself.

Attached you can find my example from Excel. This is how it should look like in Tableau. In Excel there is no dataset either, so I want to give a little introduction to it.

I'd like to track mistakes students do in their exams and organize them. Therefore, every mistake itself will get an unique ID and a few information like the mentioned "level of education" and the status if it was reviewed/corrected already or not.

I want to determine a maximum amount of mistake for every educational level and count how many mistakes the student has done so far. So the dashboard should give me an overview about the mistakes made so far for each mistake level as a share of the maximum. The latter should be visualized by the simple number/counter, like shown in the picture, as well as in form of the progress bar, which is getting darker the more mistakes a student did so far. Important to me is, all three bars should have the same length regardless of the counter and the maximum should get "overran" counterwise but not regarding to the length of the bar. The bar should also grow up by each mistake, it should not be only one field that switches the color.

For example: The student has made 8 mistakes at level 1. So he overran the maximum of 5. The bar should has the full length and be colored in a dark tone. The counter shows 8/5. OR The student made 2 mistakes at level 1. The bar has the same length but only 1/5 is colored in a light tone and the counter is on 2/5.