9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2016 9:09 AM by Barbara J Otto

Summarizing a calculated pass/fail formula

Barbara J Otto

Hey everyone, I feel like there may be a simple answer to this problem but I'm pretty new to Tableau and I'm not sure where to go. From an orders data source, within Tableau I'm calculating how many days between the order date and ship date. I am then comparing that calculated number of days to the Min and Max targets to determine pass or fail. I then want to summarize that at the model number level. I think I need to calculate a count of pass/fail at the order number level but I "can't aggregate an already aggregated field".

Below is the code I'm using to calculate the pass/fail:

IF MIN([Diff between Receipt and Ship]) > MIN([Max Lead Time])

then "Fail"

ELSEIF MIN([Diff between Receipt and Ship]) < MIN([Min Lead Time])

then "Fail"

ELSE "Pass"

END

As an example, for order 50 and 51 below. At an order number level my formula would calculate I would have 1 pass and 1 fail. However, when I remove the order number info it summarizes at Model Number  so it's comparing 28 calendar days to min target of 20 and max target of 40 and would show 1 pass at the model level. How can I get a count of the pass/fail at the order number level that can be summarized at any level (order number, model number, etc.)

Order #Model #Order Receipt
        Date
      Order Ship DateCalc DaysMin TargetMax Target
      50AAAA1/1/20161/25/2016241020
      51AAAA1/1/20161/15/2016141020

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Summarizing a calculated pass/fail formula
          David Li

Hi Barbara, can you share a packaged workbook? At least one of the fields in your calculation must already be aggregated, but I can't tell which one without seeing the workbook. My guess is that you just need to remove the MIN() around [Diff between Receipt and Ship], though.

• 2. Re: Summarizing a calculated pass/fail formula
            Barbara J Otto