12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2016 1:21 AM by Simon Runc

Sort the result

Sultan Altowerqi

Hi folks,

I hope all are OK.

I am new with Tableau and I have build the attach_1 work sheet which is describe the total profit and total lose by country my question is how can I sort it depends on the positive and negative signs. Moreover I found a way to select the positive and sort it DESC or ASC and do the negative as well in a same way see attach_2 but this doesn't working fine because I have use the date filter so if I change the date the positive and negative will be order in a differently way see the attach_3.

Is there a way to sort it such as the attach_1 and doesn't effect if I a change the date?

One more thing, is there a way to put the Dimeension between the negative and positive signs instead of the left poisition?

I appreciate your assistance in this matter.

Thanks in advance,

Sultan

• 1. Re: Sort the result
          Simon Runc

hi Sultan,

So one way to achieve this is to use a Blue pill to "force" a sort in Tableau. By default Tableau sorts Blue pills in Ascending order (be that by value or alphabetically), which means the negative of the value is a descending sort!!

In the attached I've mocked up the YoY (for last year) in Super Store by Category...which is done via the [Sales Var YoY] measure

(ZN(SUM([Sales])) - LOOKUP(ZN(SUM([Sales])), -1)) / ABS(LOOKUP(ZN(SUM([Sales])), -1))

I've then created the following formula off this (just the negative of the YoY formula)...

[Sales Var YoY - Sorter]

[Sales Var YoY]*-1

I then change this to be discrete (Blue) and bring it into the left of the thing I want to sort (SubCategory in this case). I then hide the header...as you'll see you can filter on the Months and it always re-sorts in descending order.

hope that helps and makes sense, but let me know if not

...not sure I understand what you mean in your second question...can you show me an example of what you'd like to see.