3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2016 1:35 PM by Tom W

Visualization

Ben Hoa

Hello

I am new to Tableau and I would like to understand if the below visualization is possible in Tableau

First stacked bar chart to be independent and from second stacked bar chart the Line chart (dual axis) should be shown as below

When I tried what I am getting is something like this

(dual axis for line)

Appreciate your inputs

• 1. Re: Visualization
          Tom W

Hi Ben,

What you're trying to achieve is extremely straight forward if your data is setup 'correctly'.

Take a look at the attached example where I have a Dual Axis report setup on Sales and Profit.

The difference between my example and yours is the structure of the data. You're relying on a whole bunch of measures to build your chart and as a result you are coming up against limitations like the fact a dual axis can only support two 'measure pills'.

It's a little difficult for me to follow what you're trying to achieve in the example, but I feel like the only way you'll be able to produce what you need is if you pivot/pre-process your datasource so you have a dimension you can actually use to setup the 'columns' in the view.

• 2. Re: Visualization
            Ben Hoa

Hello Tom

Thank you for your reply.

As i am pretty new to this Tableau, I am not able to get clear

understanding og (Pivot/Pre-proceess your datasource )

What is shown in visulaization is

Budget, Month1 Act,Month 2 Act,Month3 Act and dot showing variance between

Month1 Act,Month 2 Act ..

Since variance is calculated only for Actuals, the first stacked column

should not be touched.

Appreciate your support

Regards

Ben

• 3. Re: Visualization
              Tom W

Hi Ben,

You won't be able to build the chart using the data structure you have now. Take a look at the example I provided, you'll see the columns in the chart are created because I've been able to use the YEAR dimension on the column shelf of Tableau.