1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2016 3:10 PM by jason.sanford

Data Source view for Desktop 10.1

jason.sanford

Hello all,

For some reason when I pull up an existing workbook to review the data source, the view has changed.  I have attached a previous and current screenshot.  I am fairly new to Tableau (but have completed Desktop I & II) and this my first workbook I published last month.  I did just upgrade to 10.1 the other day (and the Server to 10.1), so I'm not sure if this is related.  Another workbook that is currently in the works, does not do this.  I would greatly appreciate any advice.

What I'm currently seeing:

Data Source view Current.PNG

What I used to see:

Data Source view Previous.PNG

I looked through the open bugs for 10.1 and did not see anything related to this, I'd imagine it's my inexperience!

• 1. Re: Data Source view for Desktop 10.1
          Jeff Strauss

Hi Jason.  It appears that your first view is pointing at a Tableau Server published datasource.  What this means is that your workbook just has a pointer to the data that lives up on server and all the details are up on server. If you want to see the underlying tables that this published datasource points at, you can either download it from the server, or you can right-click on the datasource connection within the top left window of the Tableau Desktop and then "create local copy". I hope this helps.

• 2. Re: Data Source view for Desktop 10.1
            jason.sanford

Thanks for your response Jeff.  That does work, but only temporarily.  Up until today, I could open my workbooks and go to the Data Source tab and review my data source settings like shown in my screenshot (those shots are redacted to keep data private).  As soon as I did what you recommended, closed the workbook (saved changes) and reopen it, I'm back to square one.

All of these workbooks have 'live' connections to our sql server.

• 3. Re: Data Source view for Desktop 10.1