6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2016 12:49 PM by Andrew Raith

Tableau & RServe issue using custom portal and trusted tickets

Andrew Raith

In my role, I am a developer but also a data analyst and I built a custom J2EE portal that uses trusted tickets to execute and display Tableau visualizations using Tableau Server.  I have written a pretty dashboard that uses RServe to process a K-Means Clustering analysis on a small data set.  In Tableau Desktop, I am configured with RServe correctly and the dashboard works as planned.  If I open the published visualization directly in Tableau Server, everything runs fine as well.  However, when the same visualization is accessed through our portal, I get an error stating: "TableauException: An error occurred while communicating with the Rserve service."  RServe is installed and running on the same box as Tableau Server (nothing else) in case that matters.  The portal code runs on a different web server that is set up as a trusted host for Tableau Server which in turn allows licensed users to run visualizations using a web browser but not directly in Tableau Server (the portal serves some other purposes as well...)

Does anyone have some suggestions for what might be causing this issue or where to start looking for a cause?  I have checked to make sure that the RServe port is not being blocked by a firewall (getting some extra technical support on that) and it appears to be configured properly (after all I am connect to it with Tableau Desktop).

Thanks,

Andrew

• 1. Re: Tableau & RServe issue using custom portal and trusted tickets
          Jeff Strauss

could it be that there is an authentication issue?  What id is being passed into the Rserve?  Maybe is it the Tableau Server runas account, or is it the individual user id, or is it the id that was used to generate the trusted ticket?

• 2. Re: Tableau & RServe issue using custom portal and trusted tickets
            Bora Beran

Hi Andrew,