14 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2017 11:27 AM by Matt Coles

vizAlerts sending Multiple/Duplicate emails

john liptak

I want to know if anyone is having issues with duplicate emails being sent.  I have a subscription to a view on a disabled alert schedule.  The windows scheduled task is set to run every minute and everything works except that i'm getting 3 emails.  When i look at the view in Tableau i can see only 4 rows and I expect only 4 email (see below). But the first 3 rows are being emailed 3 times and the last row is being emailed only once!!.

The disabled alerts schedule is configured to run daily at 7:30am and that's when the emails arrive.  so from that point of view everything seems to work.  But why the multiples for the first 3 rows??.

any ideas??

• 1. Re: vizAlerts sending Multiple/Duplicate emails
          Matt Coles

Hi John. First, would you please direct future requests for help to our VizAlerts Group? We monitor that group closely, so responses are typically quite fast, and there are more folks there who can help. I only knew about this because I have a...drumroll...VizAlert set up to monitor the other Community sites for requests for help. (I'd move this there if I could, but I don't have rights).

Okay, now to solve your problem. VizAlerts takes the summary data from your viz, removes all non-relevant fields (meaning any field not explicitly used by VizAlerts), then removes exact duplicate rows, then sends one email per row. It is possible that the summary data isn't showing the same thing as the viz itself. You can troubleshoot this by downloading the summary data, and seeing what data is there. Perhaps there are more rows. We've seen stuff like this occur sometimes with dual-axis visualizations as well.