4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2016 1:33 AM by Bojan Ramadanovic

How to aggregate ticket/inventory management in tableau ?

Bojan Ramadanovic

Hello and thanks in advance,

I am relatively new at Tableau but I am learning and enjoying the program immensely.

So far I was able to find answers to all my problems in the existing forum discussions but I have now run into one that seems to be genuinely new and I hope some of you may be able to help me.

I am modelling a process that is equivalent to a help desk in a large business. At any point client can open a help ticket, also at any point any of the open tickets could be resolved/closed.

Data is generated on the event to event basis in the following format:

Event Date, Client ID, Event Type (Start/End).

There is a number of questions I want to be able to answer from this data:

1) How many open tickets organization has any given time ?

This one was relatively easy, I simply do a Total Active Cases = RUNNING_SUM(SUM(Starts - Ends)) over date field - if applied to individual clients this also gives me total number of active tickets every client has

2) How many active clients (clients with open tickets) are there at any given time?

This is stumping me. I can calculate whether any given client is active at any given time (simply by doing 'Active Client =

IF Total Active Cases > 0 THEN 1 ELSE 0' on the above sum) but when I try to sum this over clients it tells me I can not aggregate already aggregated quantities.

3) Average number of open tickets per active client

4) Number of new active clients per quarter

5) Number of new tickets by existing clients per quarter

I have a feeling 3), 4) and 5) will be easy if I can figure out 2).