2 of 2 people found this helpful
You can definitely make configuration changes, including to adding information to the Alerts and Subscriptions tab, while Tableau Server is running. However, the configuration changes made will not be saved or applied until Tableau Server is restarted. For that reason, we recommend stopping Tableau Server prior to making any changes in the 'Configure Tableau Server' dialog, or the changes will be lost.
Thanks Alex for investing time on this. Your ans was helpful.