5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2016 7:53 AM by Carl Slifer

Edit filter using a parameter

Chuan Yu

Hi,

I am very new to Tableau so I am not familiar with some of the functionality of Tableau. I am trying to use Tableau to work on my current project. Basically, we are looking at how R&D expenditures change over time so we have the variable "Year" in columns and "RD_expenditures" in rows. We also want to see how individual firms behave over time so I have dragged the variable conm, which is company name, in color so I see the R&D expenditures for each firm over time.

My question here is that I want create a parameter to filter the companies appear in my chart. So I have created a parameter "Stability 3yr" and what I want to achieve is that when I drag the parameter "stability 3yr", the firms showing up in my chart will change based on their value of "stability3" in my dataset (of course the parameter "stability 3yr" is created from the variable "stability3"). I have tried to apply the parameter in a filter for the variable "conm" but it did not work out when I put in the formula [stability3]=[stability 3yr].

I don't know how to solve this issue. Does anyone have any idea how to make this work? It seems like a quite easy task but I have been struggling with this for quite a while...

I would really appreciate your help if you could guide me through how to solve this issue.

Many thanks in advance!

Tableau query.png

• 1. Re: Edit filter using a parameter
          Luciano Vasconcelos

It's easy as you said.

You create a calculation:

[stability3]=[stability 3yr]

Drag on filter card and set to true.

• 2. Re: Edit filter using a parameter
            Chuan Yu

Hi Luciano,

That's what I thought too and as I said, I have already tried this formula but it did not work. When I create the calculation and set the value to "True". My whole chart just disappears... Not sure why this is the case.

An idea?

Many thanks!

Untitled.png