9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2016 11:58 AM by Mateusz Pozar

Newbie: Frequency of answer div by number of respondents

Mateusz Pozar

Good evening all!

I'm just getting started with Tableau and have watched a bunch of tutorials, but am having trouble getting off the ground.

I've imported a CSV with numerical fields with an integer range of 1-5. The field also allowed for no answer, so there's a bunch of nulls in there. I would like to create a bar graph comparing the amount of responses per range, like this:

renspons-range.gif

The data for the graph above all comes from the same measure, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to get it done in Tableau. I've found the filter function to exclude null values, but that's as far as I've got. Poking around with different measure settings haven't yielded any results.

I'm comfortable navigating the interface, but data visualisation applications are completely new to me and I'm not sure of the terminology, so if I've phrased the question awkwardly do let me know. I'll keep watching the tutorials but this seems a simple function and I'd love to learn how to think to get this done. Any suggestions are more than welcome.

Cheers!

Mateusz

• 1. Re: Newbie: Frequency of answer div by number of respondents
          David Li

Hi Mateusz, and welcome to Tableau and our community!

I wasn't exactly clear on how your data was laid out, but let's assume that you only have one field that contains the integer [1-5] answer. Tableau probably made this into a measure, but it's actually more like a dimension! Try clicking and dragging it from the Measures section into Dimensions. Then, drag the field (which Tableau now considers a dimension) into the columns shelf. Then, drag [Number of Records] into the rows shelf. That will probably give you what you want to see. If not, let me know!