12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 24, 2016 1:33 AM by Nik Sargent

Stuck creating moving average of calculated percentage

Nik Sargent

This problem is currently driving me crackers in Tableau Desktop v9.2.5. I've googled to try and find a solution, but haven't (or haven't been able to recognise it). I'm a newbie to tableau of about a month.

It's the problem of creating a moving average of a percentage.

My raw data is just counts of events (think "error codes" or "outcomes") by day , so I am interested in the % split of "outcomes" on each day, to build a trend line. 

I can use the built in table calculation functionality of tableau to calculate a percentage for each Outcome calculated by Table-down..  That works beautifully to tell me the split of outcomes.

Then I need a moving average.   So, initially I used the built in table calculation dialogue to create that. It requires me to specify the calculation type as moving->average, but this (of course) is based on the outcomes (i.e. the raw data) - i.e. absolute numbers, not the % proportion, which was calculated.

So, I set a secondary calculation to be performed on % of total, and eventually managed to get the partitioning set up so that it all looked pretty good.

Except it isn't and it's taken me a few days to work out why. Really this calculation needs reversing, in my use case.

What tableau is doing is, for each outcome (i.e. row)  is taking an average for row outcome over the moving time window (say 3 days). So far so good. 

It is ALSO doing that for the total (i.e. notionally the column total).   So the first observation is - because I have gaps in my data - this leads to the sum of all averages (i.e. the 3 day average in each row) not adding up to the total (i.e. the 3 day average of each day's sum).   (I have also modelled all this in excel to double check & reverse engineer, and get the same answer)