1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2017 7:09 PM by Shao Yihao

The Walking Dead - Sankey Viz

JP Kelly

Hi All,

Relative newbie here looking for some guidance on how to put together a sankey viz that maps the relationship between characters in The Walking Dead (which will be the "nodes" on the left), and the episodes in which they appear (which will be the "nodes" on the right). I've found some really great sankey diagram tutorials online. My favourite is this one by Ryan Smith (screenshot from the tutorial below) in which he maps football players who played in the recent Euros (point A, left) to the domestic leagues in which they play (point B, right).

Sankey.jpg

As useful as this tutorial is (along with many others that I've found), it seems to differ from what I'm trying to achieve in one significant way: instead of one node on the left connecting to one node on the right (e.g. in the Ryan Smith example, one name of a footballer [left] connects to one league [right]), my diagram will connect one character [left] to multiple episodes [right]. E.g. the protagonist Rick Grimes is credited in 83 episodes to date (see below), so his line from the left would split off to 83 different points on the right.

Walking Dead - Number of Appearances.jpg

The answer to this may be painfully obvious, but as I'm new to the wonderful world of dataviz, I can't quite get my head around it. Would it be as simple as reversing the concept/points in the tutorial cited above, so that a league (or "character" in my example), occupies the left and splits out to various different players (or "episodes" in my example)? Hopefully that makes sense! If not, I'd be happy to elaborate.

Thanks in advance everyone!

PS - Simon Runc, seeing how helpful you were with my last query, perhaps you can help again?!

• 1. Re: The Walking Dead - Sankey Viz
          Simon Runc

hi JP,