8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2016 10:37 AM by berge.simonian

Pages Auto-axis

berge.simonian

So I'm really new to Tableau but have already been amazed at how easily I can make sense of my data in it. One thing that I'm trying to do is working for the most part, however I'm having a bit of a snag.

I'm trending a variable, for which I have 1-minute average data for a full year. I have the following setup:

• Columns: HOUR(Date-Time)
      • Rows: AVG(Variable X)

I'm getting a great plot of the full dataset and so what I am now trying to do is set up Pages so that I can pan through each day individually. I've created a MDY(Date-Time) under pages and, once again it's doing what it's supposed to and showing my data for each day and I can pan through. My issue is that when it creates the Page and only displays the selected day's data, my x-axis still maintains the same date range as the full data set. For example if I want to look at 2015-10-30 data, it shows just that data but in the full range of 2015-10-01 to 2016-10-01.

Is there some way that I can get it to auto-change the date range to only show the selected day as I pan through the pages??

I hope this makes sense; thanks!

• 1. Re: Pages Auto-axis
          berge.simonian

I guess I should probably show some screenshots; had to normalize the data for confidentiality

1-All.JPG

2-Oct30.JPG

• 2. Re: Pages Auto-axis
            berge.simonian

Bump. Anybody have any ideas on this p

• 3. Re: Pages Auto-axis
              Wesley Magee

Berge,

It looks like it's your HOUR(Date-Time) pill on your columns shelf that is formatted incorrectly. It looks like instead of hours, it's giving you days. Since you're using Pages to manage the day dimension you should only be showing hours as your columns. It looks like you have it keyed in correctly, so I would have to take a look at it to fix it. Ultimately the core of your problem is changing that pill to show hours and not days.