6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2016 1:45 PM by Mike Loveless

Filter on a Left Join

Mike Loveless

Hi all, fairly basic question but from my search I wasn't able to find anything.  I am looking to move away from custom SQL queries and using the tool that Tableau provides.  However, I can't figure out how to do joins within Tableau that aren't the most basic.  The example that I'm trying to replicate would be Joining Table A and B (within Tableau instead of SQL) that would produce similar to the below query example. 

SELECT *

FROM table_a a

LEFT JOIN table_b b ON b.id = a.id AND b.field1 IS TRUE

Still want data from Table_a if there is no data in table_b where b.field1 IS TRUE which means I wouldn't be able to use b.field1 IS TRUE as a filter.  I can't add a workbook, but below is a quick example of what I'm trying to achieve, assuming both are complete tables.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Filter on a Left Join
          Benjamin Greene

I am by no means a SQL expert, but try changing the last bit to WHERE b.field1='TRUE' instead of AND b.field1 IS TRUE

• 2. Re: Filter on a Left Join
            Mike Loveless

Benjamin, if I did that I'd be excluding the results from TableA that I wanted.  I'd be getting something like below as 3, 4, and 5 don't have anything in Table B so it doesn't meet the requirements of the filter.  To your point, there is another way to accomplish this by adding an OR b.field1 IS NULL.  I haven't been able to figure out OR statements either. 

• 3. Re: Filter on a Left Join
              Alex Xu

Hi Mike,

what about:

SELECT *

FROM table_a a

LEFT JOIN

(

select *

from table_b b

where b.field1 = 'TRUE'

) b_table

on b_table.id = a.id

• 4. Re: Filter on a Left Join
                Mike Loveless