2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2016 11:40 AM by Patrick A Van Der Hyde

Calculating peer group averages based on multiple parameters

joyce.chapman

Hello everyone!

I'm still new to Tableau. I'm trying to use Tableau to reproduce a data dashboard that I created in PHP a couple years ago. I'm having trouble figuring out how to reproduce the data columns, which display data for 1. A selected library in a selected year, 2. An average for all libraries in the selected comparison group that match the group of the selected library, and 3. The difference between the data for the selected library and the comparison group’s average. I have attached my Tableau workbook. Thank you in advance for any assistance!

ISSUES

1. “Data” column: When a library and a year are selected in the drop downs, I thought that dragging the measure “Data” to the Text shelf would display the value for that library in that year. It is displaying something completely different (I’m not sure what). The example I’ve left selected in the worksheet is FY2013-2014, Altamonte Springs City Library’s circulation of children’s materials: it should be 18,233 but shows 163,020. I can see that changing the values of the year filter on the right does not affect the data -- so the data is actually not actually being filtered.