6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2016 1:33 AM by Abhilash Singh

Scheduling Custom SQL extract refresh on Server

Abhilash Singh

Hi All,

I am new to tableau server and was hoping someone can help me out here.

I have a workbook (twbx) which has 3-4 extract connected to oracle and I have custom sql for all. When I connect to oracle database I use windows authentication, and this works.

After I published this workbook on server, I wanted to schedule automatic refresh. I went with everyday 6 AM refresh. But in order to test, i thought I will run a full refresh right away to check everything.

I got an error message saying 'sign in failed'. I then went to the data source tab of my workbook and tried to edit the connection. It already had the correct server name, I typed in my user name and password (windows password) but I got an error message saying invalid username/Password.

I then tried the same user name and password on tableau desktop and got the same message. Windows authentication works but if I type my username and password, it doesn't.

As my second try, I didn't enter my password while editing connection details on server. I choose the option 'prompt user for password if needed'. Now I get a different error, saying 'Oracle database error 12154: ORA-12154: TNS:could not resolve the connect identifier specified'. I googled this error but and tried a few solutions (setup environmental variables etc.), But no luck.

Also I am not getting the impersonation options . So I think my credentials are not getting embedded when I publish (This is probably because of server setting, I am not the admin. But I will check this and update asap)

What I want to ask is what are the exact steps that one should follow in order to publish and automate extract refresh of a oracle connected workbook?

Thanks in Advance!

Abhilash

• 1. Re: Scheduling Custom SQL extract refresh on Server
          Dmitry Chirkov