5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2016 4:10 AM by Sunny Side

Computing and dividing Sales as Quartiles

Ankit Sharma

Hi all,

I'm new to Tableau community, so forgive if I'm direct in my asking.

I have 2 columns- one with an SKU item and other with a dollar value (sales of a product). I need to create 4 slabs - Top, Second,Third and Bottom Quartiles. And finally color code them with different Quartiles displaying different color. I have attached an excel sheet displaying the sample format I'm trying to create in Tableau.

I looked at various discussion on Tableau community but no fruitful result yet.

Please let me know if there is a way to do this.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Computing and dividing Sales as Quartiles
          Dan Sanchez

Hi Ankit!

Welcome to the forums!

One of the great things about Tableau is how quickly we can add Quartile analysis to a view without needing to do much in terms of writing calculated fields.  For this one in particular, we can use the Analytics pane exclusively with no calculations required at all!

I started by building out a bar chart with your data like this:

Next you'll want to click the Analytics Pane towards the top left and drag out the Distribution Band onto the Table option:

This will launch a configuration window where you can select Quartile in the Value drop down (set the Quantile value option to 4 to get quartiles), change the Label drop down to Value, and then enable to Fill Above and Fill Below options.  I also added a Stoplight fill color:

And there we go!  Now we can quickly see which of the products fall in which quartile, as well as the value associated with each quartile.  Hope this helps get you started on your analysis!

Thanks!

• 2. Re: Computing and dividing Sales as Quartiles
            Ankit Sharma

Hi Dan,

Thank you for such detailed explanation. Really Appreciate it