13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2016 11:20 PM by Fikri Shihab

Time interval

Fikri Shihab

Hi Tableau community,

I have  source file that has several columns and the data represent network activity log based on time series. Date and time column are separated in a separate column.  I'd like to make  a dynamic time interval for my dimension to show number of users (y axis) on time series (x axis). For now, it is fine for me to 15 min, 30 min or 1 hour interval. How should I do this? 

I am very new with Tableau.

Thanks for help.

• 1. Re: Time interval
          Fikri Shihab

I did try calculated filed to create 30 minutes bin time interval using

Datetime(round(float([Time])*48,0)/48)

but nothing showed up on x- axis (dimension). I checked the time format (this filed has no date component) is string, which presumably the correct format.  Any suggestion?

• 2. Re: Time interval
            Kathryn Bridges

Hi Fikri,

Could you post your Tableau workbook? Thanks!

• 3. Re: Time interval
              Fikri Shihab

HI Kathryn,

Sorry for late reply. Please find attached the workbook.

Thanks!

• 4. Re: Time interval
                Kathryn Bridges

Hi Fikri,

Sorry- I'm a little stumped here. Maybe someone else can jump in and help here as well. My initial idea was to create a integer variable for your time stamps, and then bin them. While this kinda works, I quickly realized the limitations of bins.

Mainly, that:

a) They cannot be used in if/then or case/when statement to allow a parameter to switch between 15/30/45 minute bins

b)They cannot be used to 'back-calculate' a bin time to put on the axis.

The trend in this workbook is probably what you are looking for for something like the 15 minute interval/CountD Customer ID, but doesn't really serve well for your time variable. sorry!

I also found this article by Richard Leeke, which references something like the equation it looks like you were going for above. Maybe it will help as well?

Datetime Bins