7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2016 2:31 PM by Yuriy Fal

Multiple Filters with AND Conditions

Dan Quigg

I am still fairly new to Tableau and struggling to do something I think is pretty basic. I have one column in my database that has a list of dimension values that vary based on another column called Series. So I created a series of calculated columns that vary based on the result in Series. If it does not apply, I insert a NULL value. So far so good and I get the results I want. My database with the calculated columns looks like the one below.

Tableau Database Example.JPG

The problem is I want to be able to group the Enrollment measure (there is only one measure) by the combination of the four columns (Size and Setting, Enrollment Profile, Affiliation, and Basic Classification). I can only seem to be able to use one filter at a time rather than all filters. I tried using filters in context but don't get what I want. I need to be able to collapse the results by all selected filters to get the Enrollment Value above.

Thank you very much!!

• 1. Re: Multiple Filters with AND Conditions
          Dmitry Chirkov

Wait, are you saying you can't put ALL the filters you want on the filter shelf?

All the filters there are AND'ed

• 2. Re: Multiple Filters with AND Conditions
            Dan Quigg

No sorry I was unclear.  The problem is with deploying them as selectable using Show Filters. As soon as you select an option, the other options are immediately limited to the NULL values because it applies the Show filter selection immediately.  I want to effectively group all of the filtered selections and apply it at the end.

• 3. Re: Multiple Filters with AND Conditions
              Dmitry Chirkov

It's still not super clear what you mean, sorry. I guess we use different terminology.