8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2016 5:47 AM by Andrew Watson

Calculations on cumulative data

Artur Pogorzelski

I'm still quite new to tableau and I'm working on cumulative data which isn't ideal but I have no other option.

I need to make a dashboard to show how our sales guys are doing against their targets. Their targets are quarterly, so they start from scratch against their target every quarter. This is what the targets look like:

Targets qtd.PNG

and this is what the sales figures look like:

Net sales cumulative.PNG

Is there any way I can make the sales start from 0 every time a new quarter starts?

I've tried this formula but It doesn't work:

if [Quarter]="Q1" then [Net New]

elseif [Quarter]="Q2" then [Net New]-[Week13 Net New]

elseif [Quarter]="Q3" then [Net New]-[Week26 Net New]

end

Would be grateful if someone could help!

• 1. Re: Calculations on cumulative data
          David Li

Hi Artur! When you say that you're working on "cumulative data", do you mean that the value stored in your data source for each week includes the sum of all previous weeks? And do you have a packaged workbook you can share with us?

Off the top of my head, I think the best way is to back into the non-cumulative values. If you can't do this before the data gets into Tableau, you can do it within Tableau by creating a calculated field like this:

SUM(Sales)-LOOKUP(SUM(Sales), -1)

As long as your level of detail is down to weeks and you compute along weeks, this should give you the weekly values. Then, you can just do a rolling sum of this new calculated field that resets every quarter.

This will also help you with other calculations where you need the weekly values.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Calculations on cumulative data
            khalid norat

Can you share a larger screen shot so we can see what fields you are using on your graph

also the definitions of any calculated fields like [week 13 net new]

you should be using