3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2016 8:55 AM by khalid norat

Text filter that sits 'off-dashboard'

Harry Lawrance

Hi - I'm a bit of a newbie to Tableau so I'm trying to learn from help videos and the community questions and answers as much as possible, but as I don't know a lot of the terminology yet I'm struggling to know how to search for solutions to my problems - hence the odd phrasing of my question title. I'm sure this is a really simple problem but can't find the solution. So here goes:

I currently have a dashboard showing a graph, with a filter that changes the data shown in the graph. The filter is a text table worksheet (see screenshot below):

This looks a bit rubbish (with the 'Abc' values). I've seen other users workbooks that use 'off-dashboard' filters such as this:

This is what I would like to achieve, so my question is - what is one of these called and how do I achieve this?

Any input gratefully received.

H.

• 1. Re: Text filter that sits 'off-dashboard'
          Vincent Baumel

Hi Harry!

This is a difference between a worksheet and a dashboard. When working on a worksheet, the filters are shown to the side like in your second picture. When you build out a dashboard (by clicking on the Dashboard icon), you have the option of adding objects in either Tiled or Floating:

Capture.PNG

If Tiled is selected, bringing out a worksheet or adding a filter will "snap" it into a location. Filters usually default to the top right of the dashboard, a placing that your first picture shows. If you'd like to remove the Abc part, just hover over the divider between the left column and right column and drag it all the way to the right.