1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2016 10:52 AM by David Davis

Dashboard Filter Behavior

David Davis

I'm new to Tableau. I have a filter on a dashboard, Multiple Values (List), and it's a long list. This is per the users request. Things work fine as far as selection, filtering, etc. There is an odd behavior on the list, if a user scrolls down the list and checks a box, the cursor (focus, placeholder, position on the list) jumps to another part of the list. It's intermittent, doesn't always do it. I've googled and searched the Tableau site and didn't hit on anything. Here's what I discovered actually happens. If a user is just using the checkboxes everything is as expected. But if an item is highlighted, no matter where the current scroll position is, no matter what boxes are checked, the filter display jumps back to the item that has been highlighted with the mouse. I can't find a way to turn that highlighting off, at least not one that fixes this behavior. I've tried the Apply button and it's the same behavior. Instructing users to only check inside the checkbox and not on the item itself would maybe work, but that brings frowns, not smiles. I would think that being a newb to Tableau, that I'm missing a setting. I've checked all Actions, deleted and reconstructed the whole sheet, and the dashboard. Any ideas?

• 1. Re: Dashboard Filter Behavior
          Shinichiro Murakami

Hi, David

Welcome to the community.

It's quite difficult to understand your issue without seeing the background workbook.

Could you attach your packaged workbook (***.twbx)?

Thnaks,

Shin

• 2. Re: Dashboard Filter Behavior
            David Davis

I cannot. Corporate data involved. I’ll see if I can find time to do a dummy file.

• 3. Re: Dashboard Filter Behavior
              Shinichiro Murakami

Yes, Dummy file still helps us to understand your issue.

Thanks,

Shin

• 4. Re: Dashboard Filter Behavior
                David Davis