5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2016 4:28 AM by Glen Robinson

Tableau Migration

Manigandan Arumugam

Hi,

I am planning to upgrade the Tableau server from 8.3 to 9.x. We are gonna change the server completely, so there will be a change in domain name. My question is when i am taking a back up from the old server and restore it in a new one which has a upgraded version of tableau server but with a different URL. Am i gonna face any issue while doing this? Do i need to take care of something while doing this process. All your anwers will be apprecialted.I beleive that this is not a silly question

FYI: i am new to tableau server

• 1. Re: Tableau Migration
          Glen Robinson

Hi Manigandan

I have a few questions about your migration, which will affect your migration

1. You say that you are changing Domain Names. Is this just the Tableau Server? Are your users using AD authentication of Local Authentication? If AD authentication, do the domains have a trust relationship?

2. Are you looking to change the URL that or users are connecting to? If so, you will need to inform them of the change. Also any Dashboards that use URL actions to the old URL will need to be updated.

3.Have you looked at the performance of your environment? Moving to 9.x from 8.x can put additional strain on your Tableau environment, which can decrease performance. Therefore you may require additional server resources (CPU and Memory). This should be tested before you migrate

Hope this helps

Glen

• 2. Re: Tableau Migration
            Manigandan Arumugam

1)There is gonna be a change in URLs. AD.

2. How to do this? what do you mean by URL actions? yes, i will update them once the migration is done.

3.Yes. we have made necessasry changes.

I am worried about the change in URL.

In simple words,