5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2016 3:49 PM by Stoyko Kostov

Level of Detail in Top N filters

Nick Zhao

Hi,

I am very new to Level of Detail related concepts.

Here are some of the questions that have been bothering me. (The following examples use the sample superstore database.)

1. In the first worksheet, I am drawing a text table, with Category and Subcategory as Row Dimensions. And my Text Label is showing SUM(sales). Based on what I've learnt from Tableau OnlineHelp, the level of detail in this view should be Category and Subcategory. Now, I drag a filter on Customer Name to the filter shelf. The filter is Top 10 by SUM(sales). My question is: what is this SUM(sales)'s level of detail? I would assume that it's not Category and Subcategory. Is it something like: {fixed [Customer Name]: SUM(sales)}? Or is it first partitioning to Category and Subcategory, then aggregating to Customer Name level?

2. For the kind of Top 10 filters described in 1, (again from what I've learnt from online help), since it's a TOP N filter, it should gets executed before LOD expressions that involve include and exclude. Am I right?

3. The second worksheet is very much like the first one. The only difference is: I built a calculated field "LOD sales" with the value {include: SUM(sales)}. Now instead of filtering Customer Name using Top 10 by SUM(sales), I am now filtering Customer Name using Top 10 by SUM(LOD sales). Here is a part that confuses me. On one hand, this is a TOP N filter. So it should be executed before any other include/exclude LOD expressions. On the other hand, the filter relies on an include LOD expression. So there is no way it can get executed before this particular LOD expression, namely "LOD sales", gets evaluated. So which one is it?

I am attaching the workbook. Thanks!

Nick

• 1. Re: Level of Detail in Top N filters
          Stoyko Kostov

Hello Nick,

You can do the following experiments to get more insights on your questions.