7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2016 10:53 AM by Vincent Sanchez

[SOLVED] SQL does not reflect expression in Calculated Field

Vincent Sanchez

Hi Everyone,

A newbie here with a team lead that is adamant on getting my training wheels off. I come to you with a question about the underlying SQL that Tableau uses to gather data from a database. In my sample work book, I have two Calculated Fields that I created that have the following expressions:

• Budget Margin Average(AGG)
        • avg([Budget Margin])*100
      • Sum of Difference(AGG)
        • (sum([Profit])/sum([Inventory]))*100000

Note that these are similar expressions that I'm using in my project but due to the nature of it, I can't share my other workbook. My team lead has requested that I check over the underlying SQL to ensure that the data is being calculated correctly. If not, the entire design is faulty. When I do check the SQL query through using the Performance Recording Tool, I get this (I've included line numbers for readability):

1    Command

2    SELECT IIF(IsNull(DATEPART('yyyy',Fix([factTable].[Date]))),NULL,CStr(DATEPART('yyyy',Fix([factTable].[Date])))) AS [none:Calculation_6300719152037418:nk],

3    SUM(IIF(IsNull([factTable].[Inventory]),NULL,SGN([factTable].[Inventory])*Int(ABS([factTable].[Inventory])))) AS [TEMP(Calculation_6450727125049749)(2042856701)(0)],

4    SUM([factTable].[Profit]) AS [TEMP(Calculation_6450727125049749)(631662408)(0)],

5    COUNT([factTable].[Budget Margin]) AS [TEMP(Calculation_7490727133709152)(3976334922)(0)],

6    SUM([factTable].[Budget Margin]) AS [TEMP(Calculation_7490727133709152)(890354727)(0)],

7    MAX(IIF(IsNull(DATEPART('yyyy',Fix([factTable].[Date]))),NULL,CStr(DATEPART('yyyy',Fix([factTable].[Date]))))) AS [max:Calculation_6300719152037418:nk]

8    FROM ( [factTable]

9    INNER JOIN [Location] ON [factTable].[Area Code] = [Location].[Area Code] )

10  INNER JOIN [Product] ON [factTable].[ProductId] = [Product].[ProductId]