1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2016 1:03 PM by Mark Worthen

Time to Break Even

Mark Worthen

I am fairly new to Tableau and have been asked to do a Time to Break Even analysis.  For a prototype I mocked up some data and brought it into Tableau.  Graphing the data and being able to see the break-even point is quite easy.  However, what the user wants is to know the exact quarter in which our investment goes from negative to positive and the number of quarters it takes to go from negative to positive.

Easy to see on the chart and to count but how to I say Break Even occurs in X Quarter and it will take Y Quarters to Break Even?

See the Revenue vs. Break Even chart in the attached file.

Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: Time to Break Even
          Rahul Upadhye

Hey Mark,

You are on a right track.

Visually it would be more appealing if u add colors.

• 2. Re: Time to Break Even
            Mark Worthen

I agree colors would make it more appealing and will likely do that if they choose to have visual input as well but my primary concern is not the graph, but how to I ascertain that break even comes in FY18-Q4 and how to I determine the number of quarters required to get to the break even point?  Right now the request is to know how many quarters to BE and in which quarter BE will occur.

Considering some projects may not start for two or three quarters, I cannot use anything in regard to the current date, but from when the project will actually start.

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Time to Break Even
              Mark Worthen

Of course, being a beginner, I'm not sure how to add color like you did so nicely.  Care to share? 

Thanks.

• 4. Re: Time to Break Even
                Rahul Upadhye

Hey,

Color can be added using the colors pill & they can be customized.

See the new calculation "BE' and place that on the Labels to display when BE occurred.