1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2016 10:39 AM by Cole Wunderlich

Bar Graph Help: Scale/Zoom x-axis, Transparent bars on combined y axis, Normalizing Data using aggregate measures

Cole Wunderlich

Hello All,

I am brand new to tableau and am trying to recreate a graph I made in excel and then spice it up with tableau's versatility.  It is a bar chart with many (as in >1000) named groups on the x axis (in this case metabolites) and their intensities on the y axis.  So far I have ran into 3 major problems.

1. How do you allow the user to zoom/scale the x-axis?

For my analysis, it is both helpful to be able to zoom in on an area of the bar chart in both the x and y directions.  So far it appears the zoom tool only allows for zooming in the y direction if your x axis is composed of labels instead of numerics.

2. How do you make one measure's color transparent when using a combined y axis? 

I have two groups (plant phenotypes) each metabolite was measured in.  So basically I want to plot the abundance of a given metabolite in plant A and plant B on the same graph.  So far I have done this by dragging the pills representing the levels in A and the levels in B both onto the y axis.  This gives me the overlayed bar chart I want.  However, I would like to make group A's color 50% transparent, so you can still see the level in B when it is covered by A. When I go to adjust the transparency, however, it adjusts it for both A and B instead of just one of them.  I know you can individually edit the colors for each group, but there is no option to edit their transparencies that I can find.

3. Normalizing non-aggregate data using an aggregate measure