3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2016 11:18 AM by Tina Hauser

Sum Dimensions based on other dimension

michael.baicker

Hello,

I'm brand new to Tableau, and while I tried searching for this (probably easily answered) question, I wasn't able to find a decent solution.

I have a large data set of varying metrics for different countries.  All countries are assigned a continent.  For simplification's sake let's say, I have 100 rows of countries, each containing data on the number of airports, train stations, and employees.  I want to create a table where in the rows I have each continent, and in each individual column I have things like the number of countries containing airports in Asia, the total number of airports in Asia, etc. 

When I add airports to my worksheet, it shows me the number of airports in each individual country, but I want to sum them all together.  I also want to be able to sum the number of countries where the number of airports > 0.

So the data looks something like this

Continent     State               Airports               Train Stations               Employees

Asia             China               2                                   4                              6

Asia             Indonesia         0                                   1                               2

Asia             Japan               3                                   5                             10

Africa           Kenya               1                                   6                               3

It currently looks like this:

Continent               Airports

Asia                              2

Africa                            1

And I want to make a table that looks like this:

Continent               Countries w/ Airports          Total Airports         

Asia                                      2                                   5
      Africa                                    1                                   1