1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2017 2:29 PM by Jason Freeman

Creating a dynamic "top-n" filter on a stacked bar graph???

Nicholas Smith

I am fairly new to Tableau and have spinning my wheels on this one for a couple days now.  The threads that I've come across have shown how to do this in in text tables, but I can't seem to figure out how to make it work on the stacked bar graph.  I would be eternally grateful if anyone has a workaround they could share

Data: Audit findings and ratings by 1. Audit Title, 2. Function and 3. Process.

Goals:

- Create a three window dashboard (see attached) and eliminate the need for a scroll bar in all windows by using a top n filter on total # of findings.

- Use dynamic stacked bar graphs showing total # of findings, but also the # of findings for each risk-rating color (see attached). 

- All tables in the dashboard will be filterable.

Methods Attempted:

- Top N Filtering.

- Top N Filtering on ranked fixed subtotal fields.  Table function for ranked and creating table filter for top 3 or top 5.

- Some experimenting with include/exclude functions to remediate issues experienced on above.

Issues Experienced:

- No matter how I cut it, or how I run the calculation, tableau seems to be dropping findings from view.  For example, when I click into a specific "Function" the total findings that populate in the "Process" and "Audit Title" views does not reconcile to the total findings filtered.  Note that this is not in the dashboard example uploaded, as this does not contain the top-n filters I have been experimenting with.  I can upload that version too if it would be helpful, but didn't want to provide too much info (although I am sure I already have!)

Please note:  Dummy data attached doesn't include our full portfolio of "Functions" and, as such, does not show a scroll bar.  Ultimately, I would like to limit this window to the top 4 Functions dynamically based on total finding count.