4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2016 9:26 AM by Tom W

How to Allow website Visitor to Upload Data for a pre-built dashboard?

Ruben Rosado

Hello Tableau Community!!!

I'm trying to build a page in my website where Site Visitors (clients) can upload a specific .csv file (so they click a button and the dialog opens asking to choose a file to upload), and then the Tableau Dashboard that I built will connect to their data and show them visualizations pertaining to that specific data set.

It's very important that I get this to work beautifully, as I will be using it to provide a specific service to my clients. The clients themselves will be uploading single .csv files multiple times daily. The .csv's will be identical every time, other than number of rows and the data itself.

How in the world do I approach this? Specifics would be very helpful, since I am new in Tableau. My site is run on bluehost, and I am currently using Tableau Public. The visitors will be logged into my site also.

Thanks in advance!!

Ruben

• 1. Re: How to Allow website Visitor to Upload Data for a pre-built dashboard?
          Brad Clark

Hi Ruben,

Happy to help! This is a pretty unique and different use case. I believe Tableau Public may not be the best product for you here. Public is designed to be a sharing platform with the entire Tableau community. You can lock down the underlying data, but the dashboards you publish are not constrained to specific users. Are you comfortable with this? Is this sensitive data?