5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2016 2:53 AM by Ashish Chaudhari

Convert String into Integer

Ahmad Azab

Dear All,

I am new to tableau and trying to convert a string into integer:

For example: "Agree" or "Strongly agree" to be converted into integer value 1.

I tried IF, case and replace statements but it tells me that all the fields have to be strings!

Ideas?

• 1. Re: Convert String into Integer
          pooja.gandhi

If [String] = 'Agree' or [String] = 'Strongly Agree' then 1 else 0 end should work.

• 2. Re: Convert String into Integer
            Ahmad Azab

Many thanks for that Pooja, much appreciated.

I was wondering if there is any chance to apply that over many columns at once?

For example:

Question1      Question2          Calculation

Agree               Agree               2

Agree               Disagree          1

• 3. Re: Convert String into Integer
              Ashish Chaudhari

Hi Ahmad,

If you want to do it do multiple columns then there will be combination of values comes in to picture.

Considering Agree ad Disagree as valies following cases can be drafted.

You will have to write below formula to get the desired result which you have suggested in previous post. Please check and confirm the output attached below. Let me know if that what you are looking for.

Calculated field used.

if [Question 1]="Agree" and [Question 2]="Agree" THEN 2

ELSEIF  [Question 1]="Agree" and [Question 2]="Disagree" THEN 1

ELSEIF  [Question 1]="Disagree" and [Question 2]="Agree" THEN 1

ELSEIF  [Question 1]="Disagree" and [Question 2]="Disagree" THEN 0

END

Also attaching the the tableau workbook for the same.

Thanks and Regards,

Ashish Chaudhari

• 4. Re: Convert String into Integer
                Ahmad Azab

Thanks for the reply, but my data varies and looks like attached.

Basically the data should reflect the percentage of the students response for each faculty, were agree and disagree are considered as "1" state and the rest is 0.