11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2016 6:29 AM by Toby Erkson

Problem with dynamic multi user filter

Greg Gawinowski

Hi guys!

I'm new to Tableau and believe me I did my best trying to solve this issue on my own but to no avail.

I have a problem with user filtering. Well, I have two working solutions, but not the ones I intend to have.

To quickly describe a situation - I have a very similar dataset to the one in the user filtering tutorial:

Data Security with User Filters - Tableau 9 - YouTube

Quick description of data. I have hundereds of individaul supersotres and their sales values. Each superstore gets a report where they can see their sales and as a benchmark global sales, country sales and supersotre type benchmark sales. The benchmark names are stored in the same column as supersotre names since I unioned the queires in SQL:

Example:

select superstorename, sum(sales)

from Main

group by superstorename

union all

select countrybenchmark as superstorename, sum(sales)

from Main

group by countrybenchmark

[... and so on]

The problem I have is that I want to apply specific user to see more than one category. Let's say I have a manager who should be able to see his store sales, global stores sales, USA store sales and Home&Garden sales.

I can (just like in the tutorial above) go through the list and apply manually each 4 categories to each stores - this works well, but for hundereds of clients it would take me a week to apply correct filters.

The second thing I can do is to set a datasource filter username()=[superstorename] but this will only show superstore values not benchmark values unless I can somehow make this formula return a set of values. - this doesn't work for me since I need to show all 4 categories i.e. superstore, global, country and type benchmarks.