4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2016 12:50 PM by Winston Green

Performing calculations at a different LOD than the view

Winston Green

Hi All,

This is my first time posting to the forum so do let me know if i should be structuring my request differently next time. Thanks in advance

I feel like this isn't a new question but no amount of searches on the forum have provided me with a complete answer.

Essentially i am trying to perform a Median,Avg and Percentile calculation on the gross sales measure in the data set. The view is organized by the invoice date on the rows shelf where i have displayed the Weekday (Mon -Fri)

Issue

When performing the above stated aggregation calculations Tableau returns the values based on the 'unique" invoice lines. However, I would like to see the calculation performed at the day and clinic code level.

Ex :

Day 1
      Hour Clinic A Clinic B Clinic C
      9:0042012
      3:007135
      5:00896
      Total Day 1194223

Instead of returning the median based on the Total Day 1 line ( which is 23), tableau returns the median of the unique lines (which is 8)

This aggregation needs to be done for all the days in a month that correspond with the view.

I have tried using LOD expresions such as; Fixed { [Dayinvoice], [ClinicCode]: Sum(GrossSales) } where DayInvoice = Datetrunc('day', Invoicedate)   But to no avail.

Attached is a packaged workbook.

Any help would be great all!

Thanks again,

-W

• 1. Re: Performing calculations at a different LOD than the view
          swaroop.gantela

Winston,

Welcome to the forum. Your request was well-posed.

I must apologize for not delving into all the issues at hand, but just wanted to get a clarification on your desired result.

In the example you posted in text of your message,

are you seeking to get the median of sums of the gross sales for the clinics for a given weekday?