4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2018 10:18 AM by Thomas Spicer

Layman's ETL - Automate Data Extracts

Benjamin Cole

Hello!

I know Tableau, I dont know best ETL practices.

I have a handful of platforms I need data from, all of which must be updated weekly.

- Salesforce exact target (email marketing)

- ForeSee (survey)

- Linkdex (seo tracking)

- Google analytics (we now have in google bigquery so that may solve our issue for this data source)

I hear rumors about FTP, ODBC, API connections.

What is the best way to ETL these data sources to Tableau given that I'm not a developer.

I'm also currently getting data from our mysql db and our data warehouse google bq. 

Its great to build a viz off one query thats tied to a single source of updated "truth."

Moving forward I'm thinking that for each platform I'll append the weekly extract to a master list in google sheets and use the Tableau google sheet data connector. 

Is this my best solution? 

Thanks!

Ben

• 1. Re: Layman's ETL - Automate Data Extracts
          Tom W

Your "best" option is subjective.

The best option in my opinion is to setup an ETL process to load into a database and connect Tableau directly to the transformed database.

This will require you to implement and configure ETL jobs for each source either in an existing platform (i.e. Alteryx, SSIS) or custom build your own using a scripting tool you're familiar with (i.e. C#/.NET, Python).

It sounds like either of those approaches is going to be outside your technical abilities so, the "best" option is to either hire/find someone to do the above or build something with the tools you're already comfortable with and can use. You're probably not going to get everything automated exactly the way you want it, but that's a sacrifice you'll have to make.