2 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2016 9:27 PM by Tharashasank Davuluru

How to visualise aircraft on the ground by hour of day

Luca Siragusa

Dear community,

I am new to Tableau and a junior data analyst, and I would like to apply the potential of the data visualization to an airport development scenario:

I would like to visualize all the aircraft on the ground on an airport map, colour coded by operating airline and labelled by flight number. Eventually I would like this visualization to be animated showing the evolution of aircraft on the ground for each 5 minute interval during one observed day.

My understanding is that this should be feasible with the Tableau, however I have so far encountered two problems holding me back:

The main problem I encountered is how to structure the data to obtain my final goal. Below is the list of headers that I have created:

Parking position number (independent)

Latitude

Longitude

Flight N – 1

Arrival Time – 1

Departure Time – 1

Equipment Type – 1

Flight N – 2

Arrival Time – 2

Departure Time – 2

Equipment Type – 2

Flight N – … (n)

Arrival Time – … (n)

Departure Time – … (n)

Equipment Type – … (n)

The idea is that my unique entry should be the parking position number, and that because each parking position is not used for more than 10 parking events daily, I should be able to contain the dataset reasonably small

I have inputed a few trial data rows to try out before doing the preparation for the rest of the dataset, but my main problems are:

1. 1. How do I make sure the visualization tools interprets the aircraft as being on the ground in the interval between arrival and departure?
      2. 2. How do I make sense of all the dimensions and arrange them in such a way that results in the the visual output desired?