Sorry but that article wasn't useful.
As a Server Administrator I have full permissions and still cannot see the "Save" button and for this project, All Users have full access to do anything excluding setting permissions. The same is true for the workbook.
Here are screen shots of the permissions at the project level:
Here is a screen shot of the permissions at the workbook level:
Save—determines whether users can save changes to an existing workbook on the server (overwrite a workbook).
To save changes to a workbook, a user must have a site role of Publisher. The Save capability must be set to Allowed in the workbook permissions.
Note: Setting the Save capability to Denied for a project disables saving to the entire project, as well as disabling overwriting the existing workbook.
I understand what Save does. Also, if you look at my previous response you can see that all users are Publishers and have been granted permission to save.
But like I said in my original post, not even I see the "Save" button. I am the server administrator and have full permissions to everything. Also, I can overwrite the workbook if I click Save As and type the exact name of the workbook. It does not seem like a Permissions issue to me.
3 of 3 people found this helpful
Hi Javier, this behavior is indeed surprising, but it is intentional. When a user saves a workbook that they don't own, they need to go through a different workflow in order to manage permissions. The solution, as you've already discovered, is to use Save As.
This issue was also discussed here: Users with edit permission cannot save the workbook in Tableau server Version 9.1
2 of 2 people found this helpful
Jeff - You are indeed correct. I reached out to Tableau Support to get an official response about it. I am surprised that is by design even with full permissions - we now have users saving off different versions of reports and abandoning the old ones.
Here is the official response from Tableau:
After further investigation, the behavior being experienced is expected of Tableau Server. As mentioned in the community post referenced to, the "Save" button will not appear unless you are the content owner. If you are not the content owner, the "Save As" button will appear allowing you to either save it under the same name by overwriting it or a different name. When over writing a report, you then become the content owner, which will then immediately display the "Save" button. However, when saved under a different name, a different report will be made.