3 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2016 10:16 AM by Ivan Young

Display N (1) ROW depending on selected country

Sanjay Nimbark

Hi Community,

I am new to Tableau world, We have task to show benchmark data depending on selection by user, our data source is SQL primary data bring all data and secondary data bring only benchmark data,

Challenge : On filter depending on country selected , the Benchmark should show only one line

so for example if user select uk, portugues  > Benchmark area should show Europe

if user select multiple Region ( country select like uk, portugues, india, Argentina ) then benchmark area should show only World Region (Enterprise Data)

I thought couple of logic but could not get success and getting error while creating calculation field like

IF CountD(country) >=1 and CountD(Region) > 1 then 'World'

Else (Region)

End

give me can nt mixed with aggregate with non aggregate etc..

could any one help please.

kind regards,

Sanjay

• 1. Re: Display N (1) ROW depending on selected country
          Ivan Young

Hi Sanjay,

I think you could accomplish your goal with LOD expressions and context filters.  It sounds like you want to return World if more than one Regions is returned based on filter selections.  Country will always need to be gte 1 in order to return a region so it's not needed in your logic.  Can you confirm this is what you are trying to do?

Thanks,

Ivan

• 2. Re: Display N (1) ROW depending on selected country
            Sanjay Nimbark

Hi Ivan,

Yes you are right country is always greater then 1 in order to achieve this, I  have tried couple of logic but unsuccessful to achieve what I want ,

I have tried

IF CountD(Region ) >1 then 'World'

Else Attr([Region])

End

This calculation did what I want but it is measure so I cant mixed with or create relationship with other source because of measure instead of dimension

Then I have tried

IF

Fixed { [Company] : Countd(Region) } >1 then 'World'

Else [Region]