2 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2016 9:38 PM by Justin D'Cruze

Questions to ask when publishing a dashboard as a Site Admin

Michael Szymanski

Hello,

I am a Site Admin for our tableau server.  I have 10 developers that have to come to me order to get their dashboards published to the server.

Can someone share a template of questions and check points to have the developers submit with their dashboard in order for the process to go smoothly?

I am looking for something to document this process, other then just an email  to me requesting to publish their dashboard.  Thank you. Michael

• 1. Re: Questions to ask when publishing a dashboard as a Site Admin
          Mark Wu

Just for your reference although the following questionnaires may be too heavy for your case. I am using some of those as new site creation request questionnaires.

• Briefly describe the purpose and value of the workbook.
          • Who are the audiences of the reports? How many audiences do you anticipate? Are there any partners who will access the workbook?
          • What are the data sources?
          • Are there any sensitive data to be reporting on (like federal data, customer or client data)? If yes, describe in details about the source data.
          • Are there any private data as part of source data? (like HR data, sensitive finance data)
          • Does the source data have enterprise level of data? If yes, what is the plan for data level security?
          • What are the primary data elements / measures to be reporting on (e.g. booking, revenue, customer cases, expenses, etc)
          • What will be the dimensions by which the measure will be shown (e.g. product, period, region, etc)
          • How often the source data needs to be refreshed?
          • What is anticipated volume of source data? How many quarters of data? Roughly how many rows of the data?  Roughly how many columns of the data?
          • Is the data available in enterprise data warehouse?