6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2016 10:28 AM by Marcus Mateer

Extracts Target Workers Not Gateway

Marcus Mateer

We are currently on Tableau 9.2 and are running a master and two workers . I am a server administrator in the environment and I can remote in to directly administer all three servers.

When I download a workbook to Tableau Desktop not created by me from our Tableau Server, it has the data connections as linking to extracts on the worker boxes. However, I receive an error message

"Cannot connect to Tableau Server. Please check the server name and port and try again" with details: "Internal communication error: SSL peer certificate or SSH remote key was not OK (worker 1)"

when I try to open it. How do I point the workbook's extracts to the master server, not the workers, when I download it? Is there a setting somewhere I'm missing? I can repoint the workbook to the Master upon opening, but that doesn't change the target of the extracts and I can't republish, since Tableau throws a fit when there's links to two servers in one workbook. I'm really trying to avoid having to re-download all the datasources directly from the server and replacing the ones targeting the workers every time I download this workbook.

Any thoughts?

• 1. Re: Extracts Target Workers Not Gateway
          Jeff Strauss

Hi Marcus.  We run a distributed cluster with a primary and 3 workers, so it's similar to your environment.  The workbooks should always point at the gateway server, in our case we provide a DNS entry (insights.cnvrmedia.net) to our analysts in order for them to publish up to here.  The fact that there's workers in our environment is invisible to our analysts as the distributed workload is handled by TS internally.

• 2. Re: Extracts Target Workers Not Gateway
            Marcus Mateer

Right. That's how I understand it should be working, but it's not and I'm not sure why.

• 3. Re: Extracts Target Workers Not Gateway
              Jeff Strauss