4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2016 7:28 AM by Morgan Aguiar

How to Manipulate Data and Totals in Tableau

Morgan Aguiar

Hi Tableau Community,

I've been using Tableau for about two years now and I've been trying to create a new process using Tableau which will allow me to manipulate my imported data (Specifically a String Type).

Example:

Column1 Column2

R   (ABC)   1A3

O   (BCD)   2B4

W   (EFG)   4B6

1    (EFG)    NULL

If I wanted the NULL to equal 4B6 (the previous cell value filtered by the primary key), note that there are multiple NULL values and I would like to replace the NULL with the string of its previous value.

Column1 Column2

R   (ABC)   1A3

O   (BCD)   2B4

W   (EFG)   4B6

1    (EFG)    4B6

I've looked into PREVIOUS type calculations and REPLACE but I've been having issues due to the string type format.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

M.A

• 1. Re: How to Manipulate Data and Totals in Tableau
          Pamela Germain

I think previous_value might work if you use attr(), something like ifnull(attr([column2]), previous_value(attr([column2])))

You could also do a lookup, something like ifnull(attr([column2]), lookup(attr([column2]),-1)).

• 2. Re: How to Manipulate Data and Totals in Tableau
            Morgan Aguiar

Pamela Germain, Thank you for the quick response and starting steps.

After using the previous_value formula I started obtaining values as an (*) asterisk, once I switch the Attr to min / max I would see a value. The reason behind this is that some values have multiple values / nulls when referred back to column 1...

Example (replicating your graph above):

Col1      Col2    Calculation1

(ABC)    1A3     1A3

(BCD)    2B4     2B4    

(EFG)    4B6     4B6

Null     4B6

(GHI)    4B6      4B6

4D6     4D6

4H6     4H6

Null     (*) ... If min or max is used it will yield a value (min or max of the values within intersections Col1 -> Col2)

(LMO)   Null     (*)

Null     (*)