2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2016 8:28 AM by Susan Baier

Charting Surveys:  How to weight by city factor?   HELP!

Ariel Visor User Test

@

Hello, im very new to tableau, trying to do some things to make a client use it to replace another software.

Right now, Its start to get complex... as he told me that It would need to do "weighted" calculations of the survey data aquired.

I have done some of the calculations needed, but I really dont know how to implement this on all charts.

Let see... I have
      1) Some Questions, done in some Cities
      2) Each city have a value, used to calculate a "Poblation %" of the total.
      3) City FACTOR, wich is another calculation I will explain.

and what I need is all charts in percentage, but weighted.

1) Simple weighted charts
      2) Combined charts (shows value or calculations of some questions, in one graph).

Basically... I have all the graphs done, I can do all of them ... but Unweighted.

City FACTOR... is the key thing...  I found to be able to calculate it using this formula :
      SUM([Number of Records])/SUM({INCLUDE [City] : COUNTD([ID])})*ATTR([Poblacion %])

Not sure if its done ok... on the "Data Source" it shows as "Undefined" because something of aggregate function?...

Basically.... the City FACTOR should be calculated like on this table:

We calculate Total of Population for the cities (in red)
      We calculate Total Surveys done on each city (in red)

Then, we calculate the % of population on this sample like Total_Population / City_Population ... = 0.xxx
      And the sum of all Population %, should be "1" (or 100% in green).

Now... the City Factor!....

This is calculated like this :

Total_Surveys / City_Surveys * City_Population_% =  xxxx
      For the first line "caba", the result comes from:  171 / 30 * 0.1289 = 0.73473

Well, in excel looks very easy.... but on tableau, im lost.