7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2016 2:04 AM by ANTONIO GAZQUEZ

Small samples: how to identify them?

ANTONIO GAZQUEZ

Hi all!

Although its my first time writing here, I'm quite familiar with the community since I usually need to seek advice. First of all I'd like to thank for so many help! One of the nice things about Tableau is the community!

But let's get to the point: during the last week I've been struggling with how to notify/highlight in the dashboards small samples. As you probably know, showing means or percentages with small samples can lead to dangerous conclusions. For me and my clients, it's quite important to know when a figure is supported by a robust sample or not. I'm quite sure some of you have faced this problem.

Normally I have weighted means and percentages so sometimes knowing samples it's not that easy. I'd like to have a variable which is sample<30 o sample>30. The thing is that I need this variable working for all measures. Then, I'd like to use this variable with colour or filter just to notice when I have small sample or not.

Since I'm not quite sure about how clear is the explanation, I've attached a workbook so you can have a look at data structure.

Thank you very much!

• 1. Re: Small samples: how to identify them?
          Pablo Saenz de Tejada

Hi Antonio,

I guess you have 1 row per respondent and per question right? so you are filtering each sheet by the concrete question you want to analyze / visualize. Normally when I want to see sample sizes, what I do is a count of number of records for the concrete question I want. COUNT([Numer of records]) or if you have a Respondent ID, a count distinct of respondent ID (should be the same if you have only 1 row per respondent). If you include that calculation in the tooltip, it will show you the size of the sample for each mark in the visualization.