3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2016 9:17 AM by Greg Reinecke

Path Creation From Single Point To Many Points

Greg Reinecke

Hello All,

I am new to Tableau and have a question. On a map I would like to be able to select a single dot feature from a group of several dot features in data source (A) and have a path drawn from that single dot to every dot in data source (B). I would likely use a text (.CSV) file(s) for the data source(s) and am knowledgeable in joins, filters, creating the data sources, etc. Below is a pic of what it would look like. I have seen some examples online but they seem to be very specific and ordered between source and destination. Airport A to airports B, C, and D for instance. Thank you in advance.

Map Image.png

• 1. Re: Path Creation From Single Point To Many Points
          Joshua Cloud

Hi Greg,

Path mapping can be very complicated, especially when using various levels of detail across multiple data sets. The closest that I could get my map to was using an origin filter, where I was able to select the various origin points (or source points) and the map provides the destinations associated with that point.

My process included using two data files, 1 path data drop, 1 origin data drop.

Where the Path file looks like:

And the Origin file is just a list of the unique lane ID's and the origin point (I used Zip, because it was easy).

I then created my Path Map, (the below link is a tutorial in case you are unfamiliar):

http://kb.tableau.com/articles/knowledgebase/using-path-shelf-pattern-analysis

Next, I inserted the origin file as my secondary data source, blending across lane ID and using the Origin point as my filter.

From here I can filter by an origin point, and below is the result.

I played around with just selecting origin points and the level of detail would not allow me to highlight all of the associated lanes.